Skip to content

District Meetings

Each January, Grain Farmers of Ontario supports its 15 districts in holding District Meetings. These meetings serve as annual elections for district representation, and District Director elections are held every other year (even numbered districts in even numbered years, odd numbered districts in odd numbered years).

Grain Farmers of Ontario provides organizational updates to attendees and districts are encouraged to bring forward any new resolutions for discussion.

Attending a district meeting in person? Register below.

Register for a meeting

2023 District Meetings

The date and time of your district meeting has been confirmed and is noted below. Information is subject to change.

The Annual District Meetings are called to elect voting delegates and alternates for the coming year. All farmer-members who have sold grain (barley, corn, oats, soybeans, or wheat) within the past two years are eligible to let their name stand for delegate. If you would like more information on being a delegate, please contact your current district director or Rachel Telford, manager of Member Relations, at You can learn more about the role of a delegate and alternate here.

Nominations for delegate will be taken from the floor during the meeting. Online participants, and those unable to attend their district meeting, can let their name stand for delegate by confirming their intent in writing (text message or email your district director noted below, or contact Grain Farmers of Ontario Member Relations). Written confirmation must be received by 9 a.m. the day of your district meeting.

Directors will be elected in odd-numbered districts to serve a two-year term. Only elected delegates vote for the district director.

Please note that voting for district delegates will be done in-person only.

Online participation

Meetings will have a Zoom option. Links to all meetings can be obtained by clicking on your District below. District-specific meeting information will be sent to all farmer-members via a postcard mailer in December. 

Grain Farmers of Ontario is offering a Zoom option for farmer-members who are unable to attend their January District Meeting in-person. Please note that anyone who utilizes this courtesy offering will have limited interactive capabilities with the meeting. Online participants will be able to hear the presenters, view the presentations, and ask questions via the chat feature. You will not be able to directly voice a question. In the event of a technical difficulty online, the in-person meeting will not be halted, and portions of the meeting may be missed online. Voting is not available to those attending their district meeting online.

If you have any questions or concerns about the January District Meetings, please contact Rachel Telford, manager, Member Relations, 226-979-5581 or

2023 Annual District Meeting Schedule


Zoom link
Jan 13 – 9 a.m.St. John’s Parish Hall
County Road 46, Woodslee, ON

Director: Brendan Byrne,

Zoom link
Jan 17 – 3 p.m.Hidden Hills Golf and Country Club
25393 St. Clair Road, Dover Centre, ON – dinner provided

Director: Gus Ternoey,
Speaker: Hugh Loomens, CEO of Sylvite

Zoom link
Jan 19 – 4 p.m.

(registration: 3:45 p.m.)
Wyoming Fair Grounds
595 Main Street, Wyoming, ON – dinner provided

Director: Emery Huszka –
Speaker: Spirits Canada

Zoom link
Jan 16 – 9 a.m.Coldstream Community Centre
10227 Ilderton Road, Ilderton, ON

Director: Steve Twynstra,
Elgin, Norfolk

Zoom link
Jan 18 – 9 a.m.Malahide Community Place
12105 Whittaker Road, Springfield, ON – lunch for $10

Director: Scott Persall,
Haldimand, Brant,
Hamilton, Niagara

Zoom link
Jan 10 – 9 a.m.

(registration: 8:30 a.m.)
Mutual Room, Riverside Exhibition Centre (Caledonia Fairgrounds)
151 Caithness Street E, Caledonia, ON – lunch provided

Director: Jeff Barlow,
Waterloo, Oxford

Zoom link
Jan 16 – 9 a.m.Innerkip Community Centre
695566 17th Line, Innerkip, ON

Director: Kevin Armstrong,
Speaker: Spirits Canada

Zoom link
Jan 12 – 9 a.m.Holmesville Community Centre
180 Community Centre Road, Clinton, ON

Director: Keith Black,

Zoom link
Jan 20 – 5:30 p.m.Mitchell Golf and Country Club
81 Frances Street, Mitchell, ON – dinner provided

Director: Josh Boersen,
Speaker: Spirits Canada
Grey, Bruce, Wellington

Zoom link
Jan 20 – 9:30 a.m.Clifford Community Hall
2 William Street, Clifford, ON – lunch provided

Director: Steve Lake,
Dufferin, Simcoe,
Halton, Peel, York

Zoom link
Jan 9 – 10 a.m.

(registration: 9:30 a.m.)
St. John’s United Church
27 Yonge Street, Elmvale, ON – farmers lunch/pie provided

Director: Leo Blydorp,
Speaker: Greg Stewart, Maizex
Durham, Northumberland,
Kawartha, Peterborough,

Zoom link
Jan 10 – 9:30 a.m.The Best Western Plus
930 Burnham Street, Cobourg, ON

Director: Jeff Harrison,
Speaker: Casper Kaastra, CEO, Sollio Agriculture
Prince Edward, Lennox,
Addington, Frontenac,
Lanark, Leeds, Grenville,
Renfrew, Ottawa

Zoom link
Jan 11 – 10 a.m.

(coffee: 9:30 a.m.)
Elgin Lions Club
19 Pineview Drive, Elgin, ON – hot lunch/pie provided

Director: Lloyd Crowe,
Speaker: Donna and Peter Archer
Prescott, Russell, Stormont,
Dundas, Glengarry

Zoom link
Jan 12 – 9 a.m.North Stormont Place
16299 Fairview Drive, Avonmore, ON – lunch provided

Director: Scott Fife,
Speaker: Spirits Canada
Northern Ontario

Zoom link
Jan 19 – 9 a.m.Earlton Conference Center, Coeur du Village
18 – 10th Street, Earlton, ON

Director: Chuck Amyot,

2023 District Meeting Prize Draw

All current Grain Farmers of Ontario farmer-members that attend their January District Meeting will receive a chance to win 1 of 3 tech prizes*!

Grand Prize: Apple MacBook
1st Runner up prize: Apple iPad
2nd Runner up prize: Apple iPad
*Winners may substitute a comparable Windows or Android device.

Three qualifiers from each District will be selected by random draw and entered into the Grand Prize and Runner up draws. District qualifiers will receive a Grain Farmers of Ontario prize pack.

2023 Giveaway Terms and Conditions

Contest is open to Grain Farmers of Ontario’s Farmer Members excluding Grain Farmers of Ontario Directors and staff, and their households.

2022 Meeting results

District 1Director: Brendan Byrne
District 2Director: Gus Ternoey*
District 3Director: Emery Huszka
District 4Director: Steve Twynstra*
District 5Director: Scott Persall
District 6Director: Jeff Barlow*
District 7Director: Kevin Armstrong
District 8Director: Keith Black*
District 9Director: Josh Boerson
District 10Director: Steve Lake*
District 11Director: Leo Blydorp
District 12Director: Jeff Harrison*
District 13Director: Lloyd Crowe
District 14Director: Scott Fife*
District 15Director: Chuck Amyot

* Only districts in odd-numbered districts held elections for the role of director in 2022