Skip to content

Grain Farmers of Ontario Congratulates the Signing of the CPTPP

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of International Trade, signing the CPTPP on March 8, 2018
Press release, press releases, news release, news releases

GUELPH, ON (March 8, 2018)  – Grain Farmers of Ontario congratulates the Government of Canada on signing the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). The organization applauds Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Minister of International Trade François-Philippe Champagne and Minister of Agriculture Lawrence MacAulay for the effort in advancing the signing of CPTPP.

The CPTPP trade deal with 11 countries is significant for Canadian agriculture. The Agreement ensures current markets will continue, and represents an opportunity for growth as it will create enhanced access for Ontario grain farmers, agriculture and exporters.

“The Agreement represents essential markets for our farmer-members that will open with the signing of the deal,” said Markus Haerle, Chair of Grain Farmers of Ontario. “The CPTPP covers three important export markets for food grade soybeans (Japan, Vietnam and Malaysia) and will improve access to pursue further growth.”

The next step is domestic ratification to ensure the Agreement‘s entry into force.

“Grain Farmers of Ontario appreciates the significant work by our leaders to ensure Canadian agriculture is part of the CPTPP,” said Haerle. “We would like to see the Agreement ratified without any non-tariff barriers inserted and to see a similar agreement with China get underway.”

Grain Farmers of Ontario

Grain Farmers of Ontario is the province’s largest commodity organization, representing Ontario’s 28,000 barley, corn, oat, soybean and wheat farmers. The crops they grow cover 6 million acres of farm land across the province, generate over $2.5 billion in farm gate receipts, result in over $9 billion in economic output and are responsible for over 40,000 jobs in the province.


Markus Haerle, Chair – 613-229-8336;

Deb Conlon, Manager, Government Relations – 416 805-4490;