Skip to content

Grain Farmers of Ontario Announcement: CEO Barry Senft

GUELPH, ON (September 10, 2010) – Grain Farmers of Ontario, the province‘s largest commodity organization, representing Ontario‘s 28,000 barley, corn, oat, soybean and wheat farmers, today announces that CEO Barry Senft will step down from the role in April 2020.

Senft took leadership of Grain Farmers of Ontario in 2009 just before the organization launched as an amalgamation of the Ontario Corn Producers‘ Association, Ontario Soybean Growers and the Ontario Wheat Producers‘ Marketing Board. Senft led the organization through its growth as the largest commodity organization in Ontario, including the addition of barley and oat growers into membership.

“Having served more than 10 years as CEO, it is time for me to step aside. Grain Farmers of Ontario, its board, and its staff has been a wonderful organization to help lead and grow. I have had the privilege of working with the finest board of directors in Ontario agriculture at Grain Farmers of Ontario, and I know that the organization is in good hands with this board and its current leadership,” said Barry Senft, CEO, Grain Farmers of Ontario. 

Over this period of time, Senft played a key role in fighting unnecessary government regulations on farming, and ensuring government programs were scrutinized for opportunities to better help farmers. Under Senft, Grain Farmers of Ontario placed an unprecedented focus on public outreach about grains and grain farming, and farmer-members benefited from focused and advanced research investments and a team dedicated to market development.

“We cannot thank Barry enough for his consistent leadership, dedication, and innovative spirit as this organization was formed and experienced a decade of growth in global reputation for excellence, for modern solutions and ideas, and for always having the needs of its farmer-members at the heart of every decision,” said Markus Haerle, Chair, Grain Farmers of Ontario.

Grain Farmers of Ontario will immediately begin the process for finding the next CEO.

Markus Haerle, Chair – 613 229-8336;
Victoria Berry, Manager, Communications – 226 820-6641;