Find Your District

Within Grain Farmers of Ontario, the province is divided into 15 districts, each of which is assigned a minimum of eight delegates. Additional delegates are allocated based on the extent to which each district’s total estimated combined acreage of barley, corn, oats, soybeans, and wheat exceeds 6.7 per cent of their total provincial acreage. The acreage is estimated based on adjusting production figured for average yields relative to each of the three crops. District alignment and delegate allocations will be reviewed not less than every five years thereafter, based on the most recent production data. Districts will be required to represent a minimum of five percent of production as defined above, except for northern Ontario, which will be assured a minimum of one district, and eastern Ontario, which will be assured a minimum of two districts, to respect the extent of the geography involved, regardless of the quantity of production. Use the interactive map below to find your director or delegate.

Click on the district in your area and the district number, name, and director will appear:


Grain Farmers of Ontario is the province’s largest farm commodity group. It represents the merged interests of the Ontario Corn Producers’ Association, Ontario Soybean Growers and the Ontario Wheat Producers’ Marketing Board. The grassroots farmer-driven process toward this merger began in 2004, when all three groups’ members passed resolutions at their respective annual meetings. They wanted one association representing the interests of Ontario farmers growing grain and oilseeds crops.

Since then, the three groups have worked closely with Ontario’s Farm Products Marketing Commission to carefully seek farmers’ input. All along the way farmers have stated their preference for one organization to represent all three crops.

In December 2008, the Ontario Minister of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs announced the results of a September 2008, province-wide mail ballot vote among Ontario’s growers of corn, soybeans and wheat, conducted by the Farm Products Marketing Commission. The result was a 72% majority decision to form the new Grain Farmers of Ontario.

In July 2015, Grain Farmers of Ontario officially welcomed barley and oat growers to its membership.

MPP Repesentation

View the riding map below, or click to download a pdf. You can find the MPP for your riding online here

MPP riding map

Get Involved

If you are an Ontario grower of barley, corn, oats, soybeans and/or wheat and want to become involved in your organization, there are many ways to do so:

  • Attend the January District Meeting for your area of the province.

  • Farmers in each District elect 8 to 19 Voting Delegates, for a provincial total of 150.

  • These Delegates elect one Director for their District, for a total of 15 on the Grain Farmers of Ontario Board.

  • Each Grain Farmers of Ontario committee is Chaired by a Director.

  • Non-Director Voting Delegates have the opportunity to serve on Grain Farmers of Ontario committees and sub-committees.

  • Sub-committees are issue-driven, and formed as needed. Their composition is designed to get the job done with the best people possible, while keeping a clear and specific focus.

  • Grain Farmers of Ontario committees include: Wheat Trading Advisory (Directors only), Market Development, Research & Innovation, Government Relations, Communications, Finance & Audit, Sub Committees.


mobile apps